Skip to content
Clackmannanshire Counts — Clackmannanshire, in numbers.Local help →

Clackmannanshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Clackmannanshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Clackmannanshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 48,100 in 1991 to 51,610 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Clackmannanshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 48,560 people in 1996; 51,610 people in 2025. 6.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Clackmannanshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199148,100
199248,170
199348,390
199448,590
199548,570
199648,560
199748,560
199848,410
199948,240
200048,170
200148,070
200248,140
200348,140
200448,680
200549,160
200649,540
200750,600
200851,190
200951,290
201051,330
201151,500
201251,350
201351,400
201451,390
201551,560
201651,540
201751,630
201851,540
201951,660
202051,400
202151,600
202251,750
202351,960
202451,970
202551,610
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Clackmannanshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,442 people in 1996; 8,377 people in 2025. 19.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Clackmannanshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,312
199210,330
199310,492
199410,522
199510,520
199610,442
199710,366
199810,300
199910,223
200010,140
20019,973
20029,825
20039,581
20049,478
20059,507
20069,382
20079,544
20089,657
20099,562
20109,459
20119,302
20129,176
20139,145
20149,051
20158,975
20168,967
20178,939
20188,902
20198,891
20208,836
20218,783
20228,697
20238,725
20248,594
20258,377
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Clackmannanshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 31,257 people in 1996; 31,860 people in 2025. 1.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Clackmannanshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,171
199231,188
199331,190
199431,249
199531,152
199631,257
199731,295
199831,216
199931,100
200031,110
200131,138
200231,255
200331,380
200431,929
200532,321
200632,808
200733,522
200833,854
200933,889
201033,793
201133,884
201233,462
201333,254
201433,030
201532,959
201632,749
201732,686
201832,469
201932,372
202032,007
202132,120
202232,190
202332,282
202432,206
202531,860
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Clackmannanshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 6,861 people in 1996; 11,373 people in 2025. 65.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Clackmannanshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19916,617
19926,652
19936,708
19946,819
19956,898
19966,861
19976,899
19986,894
19996,917
20006,920
20016,959
20027,060
20037,179
20047,273
20057,332
20067,350
20077,534
20087,679
20097,839
20108,078
20118,314
20128,712
20139,001
20149,309
20159,626
20169,824
201710,005
201810,169
201910,397
202010,557
202110,697
202210,863
202310,953
202411,170
202511,373
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 51,762 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Clackmannanshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total50,13896.9%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 51,442 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Clackmannanshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White50,58098.3%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller680.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group1280.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian800.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani3120.6%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi60%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese900.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian480.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1080.2%
Other Ethnic Group220%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Clackmannanshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,532 per person in 1997; £21,822 per person in 2024. 155.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Clackmannanshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,532
19988,837
19999,261
20009,755
200110,257
200210,783
200311,278
200411,839
200512,083
200612,158
200712,930
200813,414
200913,789
201013,902
201114,128
201214,701
201315,385
201415,815
201516,349
201616,727
201717,138
201817,427
201918,560
202018,013
202118,340
202219,414
202320,341
202421,822
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Clackmannanshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -19.6% in 1997; -16% in 2024. 3.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Clackmannanshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-19.6
1998-18.4
1999-18.1
2000-18
2001-17.1
2002-14.8
2003-13.5
2004-12.8
2005-14
2006-17
2007-15.7
2008-14.8
2009-13.9
2010-13.9
2011-13.3
2012-13
2013-12.2
2014-12.5
2015-14.1
2016-13.1
2017-13
2018-14.6
2019-11.9
2020-14.2
2021-16
2022-15.5
2023-16.8
2024-16
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Clackmannanshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Clackmannanshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£166,000

July 2026 · Clackmannanshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.